Scottish kart champions named at Boyndie circuit


By The Newsroom
Wednesday, 17th September 2014, 2:59 pm
Formula Blue winners Laurence Maylon, Stewart MacLennan and Scott Keenan
Formula Blue winners Laurence Maylon, Stewart MacLennan and Scott Keenan

Grampian Kart Club were the host club for the 2014 Association Scottish Kart Clubs (ASKC) Scottish Championships at the Boyndie Drome Circuit near Banff over the weekend of 13th and 14th September.

The two-day meeting consisted of two heats on Saturday afternoon and two heats on Sunday morning followed by the finals in the afternoon.

This was a well-supported event regarding drivers as well as spectators.

TKM 4 Stroke winners Raymond Daffurn, Stuart MacDougal and Stuart Wyness

The weather was set fair with dry and sunny conditions.

On the Saturday night a prokart endurance event was held over an hour and a half with 12 teams, which raised £1,200 for charity. Make a wish was the charity nominated by Jonathon Edwards.

The Honda Cadet final was last in the day due to a dispute to be sorted out.

Craig Mann grabbed the lead from the lights and was closely followed by Abbie Munro, Cameron Thompson, Matthew Collings and Cameron Ross who began to break away from rest of the pack. Munro took the lead on the second tour.

KZ2 UK Gearbox champions Ryan Sharp, Walter Wallace and Alistair Smith

Lap seven saw Nekreus and Collings moving up.

The six were down to three covered by three tenths.

Munro was under intense pressure but remained in front to take the chequered flag and become Honda Cadet Scottish Champion 2014.

Thomson and Nekreus completed the podium.

Ross came with a late run to take fourth from Collings and Mann. Ben MacLeod was next and was followed home by Lewis Gilbert, Jonathon Edwards, Aidan Welch and Hamish Ross.

MCL Medics Mini Max pole-man, Cameron Evans led away from Gordon Mutch, Lewis Miller and Cameron Colville.

Colville moved through to third on lap two and a couple of laps later to second.

Evans maintained lead to the chequered flag to collect the 2014 ‘S’ plate.

Colville maintained the position to take the second step on the podium.

A close battle between Miller and Mutch was resolve with Miller taking the final podium step. Mutch took fourth ahead of John Paterson and Toney Logie.

In the West High Street Garageheats, Jack Gordon led all the way to become 2014 Junior Max Scottish Champion.

Elliot McIntosh got an early drive through stop and go for contravening the tramlines at the start.

Shaun Davidson slotted into second ahead of Jack Simpson and Darren Allan, and McIntosh finished fifth.

There was drama before the start of the KCA Deutag final when Greig Sutherland, who had qualified third, could only limp off the grid and retire. It was later discovered that it was a carburettor problem.

Tommy Leckie took the lead from pole closely followed by Neil MacLennan.

MacLennan made several moves for the lead but Leckie was in control and took his first senior Scottish title.

MacLennan was 0.2 seconds adrift as they crossed the finish line.

David Kellock, a previous champion, crossed the line for the last podium place with Robert Forsyth 0.3 seconds off his bumper.

Forsyth had come through from a ninth place start to fourth.

Connor Wilson was fifth followed by Craig Mays, David Eason and Craig Finlayson. Finlayson set the fastest lap time in the final of 37.366 seconds. Ninth was Grant Cheesewright with Ross Shearer tenth.

From pole position Stewart MacLennan took the lead that he was not to relinquish the position and received the chequared flag to become Scottish Scopus Engineering Formula Blue champion.

A close battle was developing behind Scott Keenan, Elliot Paterson, Douglas Simpson and Laurence Meylon.

Simpson move to third at pit corner and then to second on lap twelve.

On the last lap on the approach to Kevin’s Simpson and Paterson clashed which resulted in Meylon and Keenan going through to the podium places. Simpson retired on the spot and Paterson finished fourth.

In the small Scopus Engineering TKM 4 Stroke field Raymond Daffrun took the early lead.

Stuart Wyness moved to third in Kevin’s Korner on lap three from George Wilson.

The following lap Wyness took second at the end of Boyndie Straight from Stuart MacDougal and by this time Daffrun had a large lead.

Wyness began to close and with four laps to go caught Daffrun.

Concern was being raised regarding the chain guard on Wyness’s kart as it was moving but was deemed OK as still covering the drive chain.

Daffrun took the victory by and championship by 0.3 seconds from Wyness and MacDougal took the final podium place.

Ryan Sharp and Alistair Smith set out from the lights for a race long battle in the Saltire Pressure Control KZ2 UK heats.

It was full on with Sharp fractionally quicker edging a small gap.

Smith closed but Sharp reacted by pushing harder and opened a half second gap which he maintained to take the chequered flag and his first ‘S’ plate since 100B days.

Walter Wallace came home third with young Neil MacLennan on this bumper pushing him hard. Liam McGill and Matthew Bett finished fifth and sixth but were both disqualified for driving standards, this promoted veteran Robby Gray to fifth and novice Leon Beda to sixth.

Results are as follows:

Crest Glazing Honda Cadets - 1 Abbie Munro (Bonar Bridge), 2 Cameron Thomson (Dumfries), 3 Joshua Nekreus (Cowdenbeath).

Novice – Luke Scharf (Broughty Ferry).

MCL Medics Mini Max - 1 Cameron Evans (Renfrew), 2 Cameron Colville (Locherbie), 3 Lewis Miller (Glasgow).

West High Street Garage Junior Max - 1 Jack Gordon (Whitecairns), 2 Shaun Davidson (Longside), 3 Jack Simpson (Fraserburgh).

KCA Deutag Senior Max - 1 Tommy Leckie (Denny), 2 Neil MacLennan (Tore), 3 David Kellock (Thornton).

Scopus Engineering Formula Blue - 1 Stewart McLennan (Edinburgh), 2 Laurence Maylon (Beattock), 3 Scott Keenan ( Lochwinnoch).

Scopus Engineering TKM 4 Stroke - 1 Raymond Daffurn (Motherwell), 2 Stuart Wyness (Inverurie), 3 Stuart MacDougal (Lynnwood).

Saltire Pressure Control KZ2 UK (Gearbox) - 1 Ryan Sharp (Westhill), 2 Alistair Smith (Peterhead), 3 Walter Wallace (Peterhead).

Novice – Leon Beda (Glenrothes)

Special Awards:

Tayside Award for Fastest Time of Day (Cadets) – Abbie Munro (Bonar Bridge).

Jim Veitch – Over 30 award Senior Max – David Kellock (Thornton).

ASKC Over 30 award Gearbox – Ryan Sharp (Westhill).

Tayside Award for Fastest Time of the Day (Gearbox) – Alistair Smith (Peterhead).

Mike Philip Memorial Award – Shaun Davidson (Longside).