Third round of Boyndie Challenge for kart club

editorial image
Share this article

THE third round of the Grampian Kart Club’s Boyndie Challenge was held in glorious summer conditions after a damp start.

Results were as follows:

Cadets - 1 Robbie Souter (Dyce), 2 Elliott McIntosh (Whitecairns), 3 Shaun Davidson (Longside).

Mini Max - 1 Jack Gordon (Whitecairns), 2 Lewis Rae (Kemnay), 3 Liam Souter (Banff).

Junior Max - 1 Connor Wilson (Rothiemay), 2 Andrew Webb (Aberdeen), 3 Alex Trives (Aberdeen).

Prokarts - 1 Chris Walker (Aberlour), 2 Adrian Brodie (Aberchirder), 3 Richard Wyness (Aberdeen).

Senior Max - 1 Tony Strachan (Newmachar), 2 Kevin Ross (Inverness), 3 Gary Clark (Banff).

ICC - 1 Neil Anderson (Insch), 2 Jason Grant (Nethy-Bridge), 3 Derek Kinghorn (Rothienorman).

Honda Cadets

A very tidy group of six karts took the green lights for the first final of the day. A train of kart was led by the 19 kart of Robbie Souter ahead of Elliott McIntosh, Shaun Davidson, Ross McWilliam, Owen Dunbar and Craig Mann.

By the chequered flag Souter had opened up a small gap and took the victory. The result was the order as above. Even if there was no passing it was a good showing of kart control by the young drivers.

Mini Max

Jack Gordon led away from pole position ahead of Lewis Rae, James Doree-Pritchard, Liam Souter and James Wood. Souter moved to second on the second tour. Gordon opened up a considerable gap and took the victory. The race got spread with Rae and Souter taking second and third. Fourth was Doree-Pritchard ahead of Wood, Ross Shearer and Michael Ogilvie.

Junior Max

Connor Wilson and Andy Webb soon broke free from the pack. The duo circulated as one for the whole race. Wilson held his nerve and took the 34 kart to victory and avenge the previous meeting. Alex Trives came home third after a fairly lonely race ahead of Lewis Moir, Emma Manson and Deborah Ogilvie.

Senior Max

Tony Strachan took a lights to flag victory after early pressure from Kevin Ross and Gary Clark. Ross and Clark made up the podium. Derek Strachan had been in fourth at the end of first lap but dropped down the order.

A close battle developed between Keith Morris, Paul Collins and Gareth Boyers. Again this order remained at the same at the chequered flag. From the back came Grant Cheesewright took seventh followed by Peter Jon-Cowe.


In the largest class of the day Chris Walker led away followed by Mark Wyness, Adrian Brodie, Richard Wyness, Chris Cowie and Leigh Baxter. Brodie took second at the end of Boyndie Straight from Mark Wyness.

The following lap Wyness cousins fought out third at Kevin Korner and came out in favour of Richard. Chris Walker was being closed down by Brodie but had enough to that his third final victory in the series.

Brodie took second with Richard Wyness third and by Mark Wyness fourth. Fifth was Josh Williams followed by Samuel Ashton, Chris Cowie and Ken Langley.


Neil Anderson led away from Jason Grant, Derek Kinghorn and John Robertson. Anderson opened a gap of ten metres by half distance over Grant. Grant pulled back the gap and was on Anderson’s bumper at pit corner with two laps to go.

However Grant took the wrong line at gate corner and took out his frustration by thumping the steering wheel up Boyndie straight. This allowed Anderson clear to take his first victory in a final. Kinghorn came home third a short distance back with Robertson fourth.

Gavin Sutherland presented the trophies in the clubhouse after the meeting.

The next meeting at Grampian Kart Club will be on Sunday, August 7. For more information visit the GKC website -