Kart latest at Boyndlie

editorial image

The fifth round of the GKC club championships and the second and final round of the Northern Challenge were contested in wet conditions recently.

The first round had taken place two weeks earlier at Golspie The GKC Team Trophy was the feature trophy of the day.

Results were as follows:

Cadets - 1 Ben Patience (North Kessock), 2 Robbie Souter (Dyce), 3 Craig Mann (Aberdeen), Novice - Jonathan Edwards (Cornhill).

Mini Max - 1 Sam McKenzie (Durris), 2 Jack Gordon (Whitecairns), 3 Shaun Davidson (Longside).

Junior Max - 1 Michael Ogilvie (Stonehaven), 2 Jack Simpson (Fraserburgh), 3 Neil Maclennan (Tore), Novice - Lucy Grant (Perth).

Senior Max - 1 Frazer Huntley (Mintlaw), 2 Greg Simpson (Strichen), 3 Ryan Tod (New Byth).

ICC (Gearbox) - 1 Rory MacLennan (Tore), 2 Cliff Harper (Ellon), 3 Gordon Hawton (Peterhead).

Team Trophy – Frazer Huntley, Jonathan Edwards, Michael Christie, Shaun Davidson

Northern Challenge Championship results:

Honda Cadets - Champion - Robbie Souter (Dyce), runner-up – Ben Patience (North Kessock), 3 Craig Mann (Aberdeen), Rookie - Robbie Souter (Dyce).

Mini Max - Champion - Sam McKenzie (Durris), runner-up - Michael McPherson (Tore), 3 Shaun Davidson (Longside), Rookie - Shaun Davidson (Longside).

Junior Max - Champion - Neil Maclennan (Tore), runner-up - Jack Simpson (Fraserburgh), 3 Paul MacDonald (Evanton). Rookie - Lucy Grant (Perth).

Senior Max - Champion - Ryan Tod (New Byth), runner-up - Frazer Huntley (Mintlaw), 3 Greg Simpson (Longside).

ICC (Gearbox) - Champion - Cliff Harper (Ellon), runner-up - Michael Christie (Banff), 3 Rory MacLennan (Tore).

Best GKC Driver - Robbie Souter

Best NSKC Driver - Neil MacLennan.

In the Honda Cadets, Ben Patience led from the lights from Robbie Souter.

Souter took the lead at Shirlaw’s on the second lap. These two were nose to tail and Patience slipped back in front on the seventh tour.

Souter tried a launch at the chequered flag but Patience won by a tenth of a second. Craig Mann was had a lonely race for third but was ahead of Max Stancliffe and Jonathan Edwards.

Jack Gordon got the best start in the Mini Max but drifted wide at Seafield to allow Sam McKenzie through.

The race became spread-out with Sam McKenzie taking the victory. Gordon came home second ahead of Shaun Davidson, James Wood and Michael McPherson.

Neil MacLennan led away from the lights in the Junior Max event but was on the grass Moravian bend and the pack charged past and he joined at the back.

At the end of the first lap the order was Jack Simpson, Michael Ogilvie, Ross Shearer, Scott Beattie and Connor Wilson. In the tricky conditions Ogilvie made his move on lap seven at gate corner to take the lead.

Opening a gap Ogilvie went on to take his maiden victory by half a second over Simpson.

In the Senior Max Frazer Huntley was quickest out the blocks with Greg Simpson nipping in front of Ryan Tod.

This trio maintained position with Huntley taking the chequered flag followed by Simpson and Tod.

Pole-man in the ICC (Gearbox), Walter Wallace, shot away from the green lights from Cliff Harper, Niall Kinghorn, Gordon Hawton, Michael Christie and Rory MacLennan.

Kinghorn moved to second on the second lap and chased Wallace hard. Wallace, at the end of the straight, out braked himself causing Kinghorn to take avoiding action and spinning out. Somehow Wallace maintained the lead.

At Kevin’s Korner MacLennan made his move on the inside of Wallace and streaked away to take the victory by 2.6 seconds.

Cliff Harper was next up and passed Wallace at the end of Boyndie Straight on the penultimate time. Wallace surcumed to Hawton at pit corner on the last lap. Harper was second followed by Hawton and Wallace.

Sarah Simpson presented the trophies in the clubhouse after the meeting.

The next meeting of Grampian Kart Club, and last of the year, will be on Sunday, November 11.

For more information visit the GKC website at www.grampiankartclub.com