Closely contested Senior Max kart final at Boyndie

Trophy winners at Boyndie Drome Circuit near Banff on Sunday 8th September.
Trophy winners at Boyndie Drome Circuit near Banff on Sunday 8th September.
Share this article

The fourth round of the GKC Championship took place at Boyndie Circuit on an unusually sunny Sunday, September 8.

Two different engine types lined up for the final for the cadet class. The Iame two-stroked engined class were definitely quicker than the four-stroke Honda karts.

Gordon Mutch got away from and was never headed to take the victory over Evan Smillie in the Iame class.

Cameron Colville closely followed by Cameron Evans and Craig Mann headed the Honda Cadets. Evans took the lead on lap six but Colville took the position back two laps later and held on for the victory by point two of a second.

Colville had won all three heats and was rewarded with the September Cup.

Mann came home third and Jonathan Edwards picked up the novice trophy for fourth.

The closely contested and exciting Junior Max final was the best event of the day. Elliot McIntosh led at three quarter distance when Jack Gordon moved to the front.

It looked settled until McIntosh passed Gordon at pit corner to take the victory. This manoeuvre earned McIntosh the Mike Philip Trophy as judged by the marshals. Jack Simpson was closed in third.

Front row pair Ryan Tod and Greg Simpson escaped from the pack early in the Senior Max final. After a smart overtake by Simpson with two laps to go, Tod regained pole position and took the chequered flag.

Connor Wilson, Liam Souter and Morgan Murray all finished less than a second apart.

Daniel Borton was on pole in his KZ1 plated kart and took the chequered flag. The KZ2 karts of Niall Kinghorn and Cliff Harper had a race long battle and Kinghorn maintained the position to take the victory by two tenths.

Ian Duncan came home third ahead of Neil Anderson and Paul Dalgarno who had his first outing in a gearbox kart.

The trophies were presented by Sheila Cumming in the clubhouse.

The next race meeting takes place on Sunday September 22 and more details can be found at