Bumper to bumper at Boyndie

editorial image

The fourth round of the GKC club championships and the second and final round of the Gold Cup Championships were contested in dry and overcast conditions recently.

The first round had taken place on June 3 at Crail, Fife.

The feature trophies on the day was the Mike Philip Trophy (mini max & junior drivers only) and the September Cup (for the least points on the day)

In the Honda Cadets Abbie Munro got the best start from the second spot on the grid and immediately opened up a considerable lead.

Robbie Souter gradually pulled back the gap and was on her bumper with four laps to go.

However Munro held on to take the victory by a margin of less a tenth of a second.

Sam McKenzie got the jump at the start of the Mini Max with the pack of Jack Simpson, Jack Gordon and Shaun Davidson chasing hard.

Gordon moved up to second at gate corner at the beginning of lap two and closed down McKenzie. McKenzie took the victory by 0.2 seconds from Gordon. Davidson closed on Simpson but the latter took third spot.

A race long battle between James Wood and Elliot McIntosh for fifth was resolved in favour of Wood.

In the Junior Max Neil Maclennan took an immediate lead at the green lights and took the victory by over six seconds.

Connor Wilson had taken up the chase from Scott Beattie, Ross Shearer and William Blake. Beattie took second place on the third tour and held onto the position.

A close battle occurred between Wilson, Shearer and Blake but the positions remained unaltered at the flag. Michael Ogilvie finished sixth ahead of Liam Souter.

Kevin Ross made the best start from the outside of the front row with Frazer Huntley following him through ahead of Ryan Tod in the Senior Max competition.

This trio edged a gap on the field. At the end gate corner Frazer Huntley muscled his way into the lead and opened a second gap to take the victory.

At the halfway distance Tod moved through on Ross and the finished in this order. Greg Simpson had a lonely race to take fourth. Darren Patrick, who had a good start, was displaced by Grant Cheesewright and Brogan Kinsella on the same lap.

Kinsella moved ahead of Cheeswright a lap later maintained the position to the chequered flag. Greig Sutherland moved to finish in seventh ahead of Patrick.

In the ICC (Gearbox), pole-man, Alistair Smith, took convincing lights to flag victory to win the Gold Cup in the class.

Cliff Harper ran second for the most of the final but some motor gremlins allowed Niall Kinghorn to catch and pass at Kevin’s Korner on the tenth lap. Fourth was Ian Duncan followed by Neil Anderson.

Club chairman, Gavin Sutherland, presented the trophies in the clubhouse after the meeting.

For more information visit the GKC website – www.grampiankartclub.com

Results as follows:

Cadets - 1 Abbie Munro (Bonar Bridge), 2 Robbie Souter (Dyce), 3 Ben Patience (North Kessock).

Mini Max - 1 Sam McKenzie (Durris), 2 Jack Gordon (Whitecairns), 3 James Wood (Fraserburgh).

Junior Max - 1 Neil Maclennan (Tore), 2 Scott Beattie (St Andrews), 3 Connor Wilson (Huntly).

Senior Max - 1 Frazer Huntley (Mintlaw), 2 Ryan Tod (New Byth), 3 Kevin Ross (Inverurie).

ICC (Gearbox) - 1 Alistair Smith (Peterhead), 2 Niall Kinghorn (Rothienorman), 3 Cliff Harper (Ellon)

Mike Philip Trophy – Sam McKenzie (Durris)

September Cup – Alistair Smith (Peterhead) & Neil Maclennan (Tore)

Gold Cup Championship Results

Honda Cadets

Champion – Robbie Souter (Dyce) Runner-up – Craig Mann (Aberdeen), third – Abbie Munro (Bonar Bridge).

Mini Max

Champion – Sam McKenzie (Durris), Runner–up – Jack Simpson (Peterhead), third - Jack Gordon (Whitecairns).

Junior Max

Champion – Neil Maclennan (Tore), Runner-up - Scott Beattie (St Andrews), third – William Blake (Ceres).

Senior Max

Champion – Frazer Huntley (Mintlaw), Runner-up – Darren Patrick (Ballater), third - Stuart Wyness (Inverurie).

ICC (Gearbox)

Champion – Alistair Smith (Peterhead), Runner-up – Niall Kinghorn (Rothienorman), third – Cliff Harper (Ellon).