New Pitsligo edge Bellslea in cup thriller

editorial image

THE match kicked-off in perfect conditions and it was Pitsligo that had the first chance when they were awarded a free kick on the edge of the box but R. Christie blazed high over the bar.

New Pitsligo took the lead on ten minutes when a mix-up by Summers and McRobb let in Gilbby Stephen for an easy finish.

They doubled their lead on 14 minutes when N. Christie won the ball on the left and he found Darius Duncan 25 yards out and he unleashed a bullet of a shot high in to the net past the helpless keeper.

Pitsligo had to make a forced change with Rennie replacing the injured Stephen.

Luke Reekie earned Pitsligo a penalty after he was fouled in the box by McDonald. Up stepped McCluskey to send McRobb the wrong way to give them a three-goal lead at half time.

Bellslea began to push forward in the second period and earned a couple of corners in which the latter was swung across by Buchan and Summers out-jumped the defence and Simpson in goal to power his header home.

This gave Bellslea hope with 35 minutes remaining. On the hour mark it was 3-2 when Watt cut in from the left and his shot beat Simpson but came back off the post and Calder was on hand to score.

Shortly from a Buchan corner Ross had a free header but he directed it straight at Simpson. New Pitsligo had Simpson to thank for protecting their lead when he brought off a tremendous save from Calder. Bellslea kept pushing hard to level the game but ran out of time with no more goals coming.

Man of the match was Neil Christie who led the Pitsligo front line well and he was left up front a lot of the time and covered a tremendous amount of ground throughout the match.

It was a game of two halves with New Pitsligo dominating the first and Bellslea the second half. New Pitsligo had just enough to hang on to the end to net the Terry Sutton Memorial Cup.

Thanks go to Alec Mair ex-St. Drostans who did the speeches and presentation of all trophies.

Meanwhile, in the Deejays Nightclub League, Elizabethan Link Up had home advantage over St. Drostans and it was the away side that nearly took the lead but a Sam Morrice shot came back off the post.

At the other end the home side were awarded a penalty which Stephen Crawford fired down the centre of the goals for Link Up to take the lead. The away side hit back and James Harper beat the offside trap and fired under Sinclair in the home goals.

Minutes later Anderson missed a golden chance from the edge of the six-yard box but he directed his shot wide of the goal.

The same player set up St. Drostans’ second goal when he set up Harper whose shot rifled under Sinclair.

An hour gone and Seivwright beat the offside and lobbed the keeper to give the away side a two-goal lead. Scott Watt completed the scoring when he shot in at the back post. Summers in the away goal made two brilliant stops near the end of the game.

St Combs faced Faithlie United who have started to collect a few points lately but the home side’s league title challenge took a turn for the worse after Faithlie United went on to win by a single goal. It was scored by Jo Jo Reid and it was a brilliant strike which was worthy of winning any game.

Invercairn United entertained Mormond Thistle who are still searching for their first league of the season and it was the home side that took all three points while scoring three goals without reply.

The scorers were Jamie Forman, Gilbert Patterson Jnr and Jordan Clark.

Clinton Thistle faced Cheers and the home side continue to score lots of goals going on to win by 8-1, the goals coming from Robert Buchan with a hatrick and one each from Willie Noble, Scott Milne, Jack Muirhead, Stuart Fowlie and Sean Ross and for Cheers was Mark Atkinson.


Terry Sutton Memorial Cup final - Bellslea 2, New Pitsligo 3.

Deejays Nightclub League - Elizabethan Link Up 1, St Drostans 4; Invercairn

United 3, Mormond

Thistle 0; St Combs 0, Faithlie United 1; Clinton Thistle 8, Cheers 1.

Fixtures for Tuesday, July 5:

Victoria Coaches Cup first round - Invercairn United v Rosehearty Thistle; Mormond Thistle v New Pitsligo.

League - Bellslea v Clinton Thistle (7pm kick-off).