Goals galore in Deejays Nightclub League games

Share this article

IN THE Deejays Nightclub League, Panasonic Tavern entertained Clinton Thistle and the away side went ahead in the first minute through Scott Falconer.

They doubled their lead when a Whyte shot rebounded to Falconer who scored in off the box. Matthew Cowie made it 3-0 with a terrific 25-yard left foot shot which flew into the top corner of the net.

Panasonic pulled one back from Ian Hossack. Stewart made a brilliant save from a Hossack shot but Hossack did score from the resulting corner to make it 2-3. Slater made it 4-2 when he cut in from the left and fired under Gatt.

Beddie made it 6-2 with a simple finish after some good work by Falconer. Falconer got his hatrick when he made a nice turn at the edge of the box and drilled low into the net.

Martin Atkinhead header Clinton’s eighth goal then Panasonic scored three goals in six minutes from Ally Donaldson with two and Kris Keith one to finish the scoring. New Deer had a fine 5-0 win over St Drostans.

They led 1-0 at half time with a goal from Scot Milne who scored straight from a corner.

They scored four more in the second half through David Strachan, Graham Pirie and Gary Thomson with a free kick

Mormond Thistle were facing Invercairn United in a league match and it was Invercairn that went on to score six without reply.

The winning goals came from Jamie Martin and John James Sim hitting doubles and one each from Lee Noble and Gilbert Paterson Jnr.

New Pitsligo had Bellslea as visitors and it was the home side that were 2-0 ahead at half time with goals from a Michael Fraser penalty and one from Gibby Stephen. Bellslea also went down to ten men when Matthew Rutter was red-carded in the first half so they faced a stern test in the second half.

Bellslea showed why they have won the league in the last two years by scoring three second half goals through Fraser Watt, Jamie Buchan and Stuart Whyte to win 3-2.

In the Gordon Leask Memorial Cup first round, St. Combs entertained Longside Thistle and it was the home side that progressed through to the second round with a 3-1 win. The winning goals came from AJ Buchan, John Smith and Neil Taylor.

The away side scored a consolation goal in the last minute.

Rosehearty Thistle were also involved in a first round tie against Faithlie United who were playing their first game of the season. It was the away side that went through to the next round with a 4-0 win; the scorers were Martin Summers, Ryan Whyte, Martin Buchan and Daniel Reid.

Cheers faced Methlick in their first round tie and it ended with a convincing win for the home side winning by 8-1. The goals came from a hatrick from Jordan Jamieson, a brace from John Bruce, and one apiece from Stuart Whyte, Daniel Simpson and Kevin Mair.


Deejays Nightclub League - Panasonic Tavern 5, Clinton Thistle 8; New Deer 5, St Drostans 0; Mormond Thistle 0, Invercairn United 6, New Pitsligo 2; Bellslea 3.

Gordon Leask Memorial Cup first round- St Combs 3, Longside Thistle 1; Cheers FC 8, Methlick 1; secon round - Rosehearty Thistle 0, Faithlie United 4.

Fixtures for Tuesday, April 19:

Ship Inn League Cup, first round - Elizabethan Link Up v Bellslea; New Pitsligo v Rosehearty Thistle.

Wednesday, April 20:

Panasonic Tavern v Faithlie United; St Combs v Mormond Thistle.

Thursday, April 21:

Gordon Leask Memorial Cup first round - Harbour Lights v Invercairn United; Hatton v New Deer; Mambos v Clinton Thistle (all 7pm kick-off).

Saturday, April 21:

Deejays Nightclub League - Cheers v Bellslea; Panasonic Tavern v St Drostans; Elizabethan Link Up v New Pitsligo; St Combs v New Deer; Invercairn United v Faithlie United; Clinton Thistle v Rosehearty Thistle.

Gordon leask Memorial Cup first round - Mormond Thistle v Cruden Bay (all kick-offs 2pm).