Balmoor prove hazardous for Mintlaw in cup final

Balmoor won the Gordon Leask cup.
Balmoor won the Gordon Leask cup.
Share this article

Balmoor ran out comfortable winners in the Gordon Leask Memorial Cup Final with hatrick hero Martyn Hazzard collecting the man of the match trophy.

It took nine minutes for the first chance which fell to Balmoor’s Hazzard whose shot from a tight angle was saved by Thomson.

AJ Buchan was the next Balmoor player to come close to scoring but saw his lob go narrowly over the bar.

On 21 minutes Balmoor were awarded a penalty when J Park fouled inside the area and was lucky to see yellow.

Walker took the penalty but Thomson in the Mintlaw goal made a fine save.

Park forced the Balmoor keeper Alexander into a rare save from the edge of the box.

On 25 minutes Balmoor took the lead when Hazzard forced his way past two defenders to fire past Thomson.

Just on half time a Mintlaw free kick was floated into the box and Munro rose high to head goalwards but straight in to the arms of Alexander.

Mintlaw started the second half on the front foot forcing a couple of corners with the latter finding Jamieson whose header went close.

Mintlaw were finding it hard to break down the Balmoor defence which was marshalled by Michael Waddell.

On 62 minutes Balmoor doubled their lead when a Mair free kick was parried out by Thomson and Hazzard stroked into the empty net.

AJ Buchan came close with a fine strike which Thomson tipped on to the post and rolled along the goal line and hit the other post and out.

J Park had a great chance to pull a goal back when he was played through on goal but Alexander made a brilliant save.

Hazzard latched on to a long ball in front of the keeper to poke the ball under the keeper to net him his hatrick.

Balmoor: Alexander, Hepburn, Green, Waddell, Donaldson, Rhynd, Buchan, Cordiner, Walker, Hazzard, Mair;

Mintlaw: Thomson, S Park, Weir, Little, J Park, Munro, Reid, Jamieson, St Park, McKay, Steele.