Final round of championships for karters at Boyndie circuit

OVERCAST but dry conditions greeted the drivers for the fifth and final round of Grampian Kart Club’s club championships and also the second and final round of the Northern Challenge.

Wednesday, 20th October 2010, 1:55 pm

The feature trophy was the GKC Team Trophy where all drivers were placed in team of four by ballot with the combined lowest total score taking the trophy.

Results were as follows:

Mini Max - 1 Jack Williamson (Elgin), 2 Frazer Huntley (Mintlaw), 3 Lewis MacNab (Star).

Honda Cadets - 1 Sandy Mitchell (Forfar), 2 Gordon Mutch (Turriff), 3 Sam McKenzie (Banchory).

Junior Max - 1 Frazer Huntley (Mintlaw), 2 Steven Chalmers (Inverness), 3 Keifer Steyn (Avoch).

ICC (Gearbox) - 1 Alistair Smith (Peterhead), 2 Graham Clark (Perth), 3 Walter Wallace (Peterhead).

Senior Max - 1 Ryan Tod (New Byth), 2 Andrew Buchan (Peterhead), 3 Kris Manett (Fraserburgh).

Novice – Kenny Mearns (Aberdeen).

GKC Team Trophy - Ryan Tod (New Byth), Frazer Huntley (Mintlaw), Jason Grant (Granton), James Patterson (Granton).

Northern Challenge (Final Positions):

Honda Cadets - champion – Sandy Mitchell (Forfar), runner-up – Gordon Mutch (Turriff), third – Michael McPherson (Tore).

Mini Max - champion – Jack Williamson (Elgin), runner-up – James Patterson (Granton), third – Jack Simpson (Fraserburgh).

Junior Max - champion – Frazer Huntley (Mintlaw), runner-up - Keifer Steyn (Avoch), third – Steven Chalmers (Inverness).

Senior Max- champion – Ryan Tod (New Byth), runner-up – Stuart Wyness (Inverurie), third – Garry Lobban (King Edward).

ICC - champion – Alistair Smith (Peterhead), runner-up – Robbie Gray (Eventon), third – Jason Grant (Granton).

Mini Max

In the most competitive class of the day Jack Williamson, Frazer Huntley and Lewis MacNab charged off opening a small gap over the rest of the field.

No change in the order allowed Williamson to take the victory by a tenth form Huntley and MacNab. James Patterson and Jack Simpson had a race long battle with the former in front until the final lap when Simpson slipped through to take fourth position.

Liam Black came home sixth, who had earlier passed Steven Allan and Connor Wilson. Wilson was seventh and followed home by Allan.

Honda Cadets

Pole-man Sandy Mitchell took the early lead from Sam McKenzie and Gordon Mutch and went on to take the chequered flag and the Northern Challenge. Mutch moved to second on lap 2 and gradually move away from the pack to take runner up.

A close battle for third was developing between McKenzie, Michael MacPherson and James Wood. Numerous changes between McKenzie and MacPherson resulted in the former taking third and the latter fourth with Wood fifth. Abbie Munro came home sixth.

Junior Max

Frazer Huntley, in his second class of the day, got the best start from Steven Chalmers, Keifer Steyn and Luke Geddes. Huntley, pushed hard by Chalmers, took the victory by almost a second. Battle for third between Steyn and Geddes had the former leading until the last tour when Geddes grabbed the position on the last lap.

Darren Patrick was leading the battle for fifth from Bibi Aldrick and Chris Walker but lost out on the penultimate lap to both contenders. Walker made a lunge from pit corner to the line but lost out by four hundreds of a second to Aldrick. Patrick came home a further four-tenths back.

ICC (Gearbox)

Alistair Smith had another dominant performance to take another victory at his home track and secure the Northern Challenge and the GKC Club Championship. Graham Clark was kept under pressure from Walter Wallace but held on to take second by three tenths of a second. There was a close battle for fourth between Michael Christie, Jason Grant and Jordan Gronkowski.

Christie lost out to both Grant and Gronkowski on lap nine. At pit corner on the last lap Gronkowski and Grant touched and both were off allowing Christie through to take fourth. Grant recovered to take fifth but Gronkowski was out. Neil Anderson finished sixth followed by Robbie Gray.

Senior Max

Ryan Tod got the best start from Andrew Buchan, Kris Manett and Bruce Buchan. These four circulated as a train with Tod opening a small gap to take the victory. The following places were covered by nine tenth of a second A Buchan, Manett and B. Buchan.

Grant Cheesewright came home fifth followed by Gregg Simpson who had Gordon Hawton on his bumper. Julie Smith presented the trophies in the clubhouse after the meeting.

For more information visit the GKC website –