Stevenson kicks off his SNP election campaign

Share this article

As the third session of the resumed Scottish Parliament ended at midnight last Tuesday, SNP candidate for Banffshire and Buchan Coast, Stewart Stevenson, signalled the formal start of the election campaign.

Mr Stevenson said he was looking forward to continuing to serve the people of the North-east, if elected, in the new session of Parliament.

He said: “It has been an enormous privilege to serve the people of the now former Banff and Buchan Scottish Parliament Constituency, and I shall be very sad to be saying goodbye to the communities of Central Buchan, Hatton and Cruden Bay, who move into the new Aberdeenshire East constituency where my colleague Alex Salmond is the SNP candidate.

“I believe that the first ever SNP Government has an outstanding record of achievement which will stand us in good stead as we go into the election campaign.

“Over four years we have delivered a council tax freeze, saving over £300 for the average household, with more to come.

“As Scotland’s government we have abolished prescription charges, put an extra 145 police on the streets of Grampian driving crime to a 32 year low, re-started council house building, scrapped bridge tolls, restored free higher education for Scots students and invested in 25,000 apprenticeships for our young people in difficult times. I have been out and about with our teams of volunteers for quite some time now and the feedback on the doorsteps is very positive indeed. I look forward to engaging with the public even more in the next six weeks.”

Communities covered by the new constituency include Peterhead, Fraserburgh, Banff, Macduff, Cullen, Buckie, Portknockie, Findochty, Deskford, Grange, Drybridge, Rothiemay, Forglen, Whitehills, Inverboyndie, Boyndie, Pennan, Tyrie, Boyndlie, Gardenstown, Sandhaven, Rosehearty, Crudie, New Byth, New Aberdour, Portsoy, Sandend, Aberchirder, Cornhill, Fordyce, Lonmay, Crimond, St Fergus, Boddam, Rora, St Combs, Inverallochy, Cairnbulg, Rathven, Rathen.

There are now no MSPs until the results of the election are declared on Friday, May 6.