Prize giving for Peterhead’s top Sea Cadets

editorial image

Peterhead Sea Cadets celebrated the successes of 2015 during T.S. Caledonia’s annual prize giving held at the unit’s headquarters in Peterhead recently.

Major Ken Masson 2nd Battalion the Highlanders, CEO of CTC Boddam was guest of honour to present the awards during the Prize giving evening.

The event was an opportunity for the Sea Cadets to showcase their refurbished unit to parents and guests before taking part in the prize giving ceremony.

The Prizewinners for 2015 were:

C Megan Hewison, certificate for sporting endeavour.

C Hannah Gordon, the Sandfly trophy for unit fundraising.

AC Neil Davidson received the Woodend Shield for best attendance.

Aimee Taylor was also presented with certificates for contribution to fundraising.

LJC Maren Mowatt and LJC Owen Waklin received the Bosun Trophy for best in junior section.

LJC Harvey Buchan received the Rob Smith Trophy for best at junior camp.

NE Dylan Biggins received the Best New Recruit.

Best Sportsperson was awarded to C Ross Donald.

AC Ian Buchan received the Premier Trophy for contribution to boat work.

AC Lindsey Johnstone received the Proxima Acesit for advancement.

LC John George Buchan, the Wilson Trophy for best uniform.

C Ellie Daniel received the Thores Trophy for Runner Up Junior rate cadet of the year.

AC Neil Goodbrand and AC Isla Strachan received the Mirkanda Cup for junior rate cadet of the year.

AC Ian Buchan received the Neil Trophy for runner up cadet of the year.

LC Kyle Buchan and POC Jake Strachan received the Presidents Cup for cadet of the year.

Major Masson was also presented with a T.S. Caledonia plaque following the prizegiving ceremony as a thank you for assisting Peterhead Sea Cadets secure a temporary base at CTC Boddam during their recent re-roofing and refurbishment project.

The Ships Company and UMT were delighted to showcase the refurbished Headquarters during the prizegiving evening.