Nominations invited for Inspiring awards

Winners of last year's Inspiring Aberdeenshire awards with their prizes
Winners of last year's Inspiring Aberdeenshire awards with their prizes
Share this article

Nominations for an annual event which gives recognition to the talents and service of Aberdeenshire’s young people, communities and staff have opened this week.

Inspiring Aberdeenshire, now in its third year, will take place at Haddo House near Ellon in June 2015.

There are 11 award categories including ‘Best of’ for Banff and Buchan, Buchan, Formartine, Garioch, Kincardine and Mearns and Marr.

These awards are presented to a child, young person or employee who has made an outstanding contribution to education and children’s services within one of the six areas of Aberdeenshire.

Other categories include the Extra Mile Award for a Staff Member, Aberdeenshire’s STAR (Supported to Achieve Real Success) Award, Outstanding Leader of the Year Award, the Provost’s Award and the Director’s Award.

Chair of Aberdeenshire Council’s Education, Learning and Leisure Committee, Councillor Isobel Davidson, said: “Last year’s awards were a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the best of Aberdeenshire and a way of giving back to the people who consistently go above and beyond what is expected.

“There are a lot of great things going on across Education and Children’s Services and we are lucky that there are so many talented and enthusiastic people living and working in the area. I look forward to seeing this year’s nominations as they come in.”

Vice Chair Councillor Ron McKail said: “I would encourage you to think about the people who make a real difference in your community and strongly consider putting a nomination forward. It’s a very straightforward process and is a great way to thank them for all their hard work.”

Nomination forms are available at and should be returned by Tuesday, January 16.

Anyone can nominate a person or group for an Inspiring Aberdeenshire award and completed forms should be returned by Tuesday, January 16 2015 to