Green-fingered Mintlaw residents’ gardens judged

Deer Parish Church
Deer Parish Church
Share this article

There was a large entry for this year’s Mintlaw Garden competition, run by Mintlaw & District Community council.

Judge, Gordon Hay, had no easy task, however, after much deliberation and reference to photographic evidence, he finally managed to pick the winners as follows:

Large gardens

1 (and overall winners) Mr and Mrs F. Gunn, Avondale; 2 Mr and Mrs A. Leslie, 6 Bain Road; 3 Mr and Mrs G. Grant, 1 Station Way; 4 Mr I. Corbett, 3 Bain Gardens.

Highly commended - Mr I. Roger, 6 Bain Drive, Mr G. Taylor, 3 Bai Road, Mr J. Ritchie, 19 Quarry Road.

Commended - Mr Bob Lawrence, 13 Ugie Drive, Mr Sandy Corner, 4 Bain Road, Mr E. Low, 2 Aden Gardens.

Small gardens

1 Mr D. Whyte, 11 Pine View, 2 Mr and Mrs Noble, Emahroo, Netheraden Road, 3 Mr and Mrs D. Muller, Sabah, 21 Netheraden Road, 4= Mrs D. Smart, Emerald Bank, 20 Netheraden Road, Mr A. Jamieson, 14 Hawthorn Crescent.

Highly commended - Mr T. Martin, 24 Brae Crescent, Mrs E. Ritchie, 51 James Mitchell Place.

Commended - Mr and Mrs A. Wilkin, 19 Newton Grange, Mr S. Grant, 8 Pine View, Mr K. Taylor, 10 Aden Gardens, Mr and Mrs M. Wood, 50 James Mitchell Place.

The prizegiving will be held on Tuesday, August 19, in Mintlaw Academy’s coffee lounge at 7.15pm, to which all prizewinners are invited to attend and enjoy a celebratory glass of wine, or orange juice and a welcome cup of tea or coffee afterwards.