Award ceremony for Modo participants

Modo Creative Director Martin Danziger with Eilidh Whiteford MP and young people involved in CircoModo
Modo Creative Director Martin Danziger with Eilidh Whiteford MP and young people involved in CircoModo

A celebration and awards ceremony to honour the accomplishments of Modo participants was held at Peterhead’s Rescue Hall 

After a busy year and full CircoModo programmes running in Fraserburgh, Mintlaw and Peterhead, Modo Matters was held on Thursday, January 29 to celebrate the accomplishments of those who make it all possible.

Highlights of the past year include coordinating the community participation at the Aberdeenshire Queen’s Baton Relay Celebration and Aden-een, the Shell Fireworks 
Parade 2014.

Dr Eilidh Whiteford MP, Councillor Stephen Smith and Denise Horan from Shell UK presented over 100 Saltire Awards, Dynamic Youth Awards and Young Aberdeenshire Volunteer Awards.

David Rodger, CEO of Aberdeenshire Voluntary Action, presented Modo’s creative director Martin Danziger with the Volunteer Friendly Award in recognition of the group’s quality work with, and support for volunteers.

Guests were welcomed by over 100 excited participants and a fiery spectacle outside the Rescue Hall, while inside, proud family members took to their seats to cheer on their loved ones.

The evening featured short circus performances by some of the participants who showed off their juggling skills and there was also an exhibition of photos taken at various Modo events by Craigewan Photographic Club.

Four of the young people went up on stage throughout the evening to deliver moving speeches about their involvement with Modo.

They told the crowd what Modo meant to them and how they had learned new skills, tried new things, made new friends, and how Modo had changed their lives for 
the better.

Modo would like to thank Willowbank Training Centre and parents for providing the catering, Aberdeenshire Council for their support and their collaboration with the Dynamic Youth Awards and Aberdeenshire Voluntary Action for their continued support with the Saltire Awards.

Their thanks are also extended to Dr Eilidh Whiteford MP, Councillor Stephen Smith, Denise Horan of Shell UK and David Rodger of AVA for presenting the awards, and most importantly a big thanks go to the Modo young people for turning up with such enthusiasm and commitment.

Banff and Buchan MP Eilidh Whiteford presented the Saltire Ascent Awards on the night, and speaking afterwards she said: “I was delighted to be able to present these awards to so many talented young people.

“Modo is a real asset to the community and the shows they have put on over the years in Macduff, Fraserburgh, Peterhead and Mintlaw have been truly spectacular.

“While everyone can appreciate the spectacle of the public performance, in a lot of ways, the real value of Modo is the work it does with young people in developing their confidence, helping them to work in co-operation with others and giving them a sense of pride in what they do and in their civic community.”

She added: “Martin Danziger and his team deserve our thanks for their efforts and I look forward to the next community event from Modo.”

CircoModo brings together participants from all backgrounds to learn, work and play together while providing a range of positive pathways.

Modo’s social circus model encourages young people to participate in a positive manner, while stimulating social and personal 

Modo harnesses the thrill, chaos, discipline, physicality and raw excitement of circus and street theatre to engage participants, and to help to support them in developing the skills and confidence to progress, and to create their own positive pathway.

CircoModo has proven hugely popular with over 200 young people participating, and 120 regular participants.