Annual general meeting for Longisde ladies

Share this article

President, Carol Addison gave a warm welcome to the April meeting of Longside WRI.

Guests for the evening were Mintlaw WRI ladies who conducted the AGM and entertained everyone.

A thank-you card from Blackhills & District WRI was read, and Moira Kelman read the minutes of the last meeting followed by the minutes of the last AGM.

As secretary, Julie Addison, was unable to attend, there was no secretary’s yearl y report.

Carol gave the president’s report, thanking all her committee members for their loyal support during the year.

Pauline Robertson gave the treasurer’s report.

Suggestions for the summer outing were given to the new committee to arrange.

Hostesses for next month were reminded also, group bingo on April 28 in the Kep Hall, Old Deer, with Elaine Milne, June Fyfe and Patricia Marshall to attend.

Carol then extended a warm welcome to Margaret Cruden, president of Mintlaw WRI, to present the prizes for the year.

The Daisy Noble Trophy was awarded to Aileen Bain.

Mintlaw WRI members entertained with a lovely programme of readings and recipes which were donated to the raffle.

The new committee was elected as follows: president - Vi May; vice-president - Mrs I. Sievewright; secretary - Mrs P. Marshall; treasurer - Mrs P. Robertson; minute secretary - Mrs S. Moir; magazine secretary - Mrs R. Niven; raffles - Mrs A. May; press reporter - Mrs E. Milne; points - Mrs D. Bain.

Tea was erved and the raffle drawn.

The competition for six month’s syllabus resulted - 1 Mrs A. Bainl two savoury whirls - 2 Mrs A. Bain, 2 Mrs E. Milne, 3 Mrs P. Marshall.