New Pitsligo arts exhibition success

THE 32nd New Pitsligo Visual Arts Exhibition took place on September 29 and 30. Entries were down by a total by 25.

By The Newsroom
Friday, 5th October 2012, 5:00 am

The two-day event attracted a large crowd of visitors and comments were that the exhibits were of a very high standard. The children’s section was excellent, reasonable individual entries but as always a very strong participation from schools in the area.

Organisers expressed thanks to sponsors, Wallace Smith Gallery for the adult section and Celtic Collective for the children’s event. Thanks were also expressed to the committee, the many helpers, stewards and volunteers for their much appreciated assistance and to all the visitors who came along to see the exhibition and most importantly the exhibitors without whom there wouldn’t be an exhibition. Results as follows:-

Adult prizewinners

Paintings - Ethel West, Fraserburgh; Rhona Morrison, New Pitsligo; David Grant, Strichen; Timothy Davis, Aberdeen; Jill Harrison, Boyndlie; Peter Morrice, Fyvie; Leanne Ferguson, New Pitsligo and Frances Innes Peterhead.

Photography - Gordon Skinner, Kintore; Brenda Davis, Memsie; Paul Woodburn, Sandhaven and Mairi Morrison,F raserburgh.

Craft - Graham Neal, Cuminestown; John Gerrard, New Pitsligo and Sheena Burnett, Maud.

Lace - Heather MacDonald, Whitehill.

Special voucher prizes - Paintings: - P. Hughes, Crail; Melanie Howlett, Maud; Iris Mutch, Fraserburgh and Lorna Dawson, Ardallie; Photography: - Jodie Noble, Fraserburgh and Anne Bowie, Rathen; Craft: - Sheena Burnett, Maud.

Children’s school prizewinners: Nadezdha Raduncheva, Lochpots; Peter Bain, Alexander Wall and Leah Adams, New Pitsligo; Zoe Allan, Daniel Richardson and Megan Malcolm, Strichen; Lucas Nootdermeer, New Deer; Katie Whyte and Emma McDonald, Mintlaw; Jamie Alexander and Megija, Peterhead Central; Cornelius Stewart, New Pitsligo Nursery; Hugh, New Deer, Nursery; Lauren Jamieson and Rian Sanderson, Pitfour; Calum Selman and Kirsten Craig, Longside; Rees, St. Kanes; Gabija Remeikaitie, Kornelia Gierczak and Sebastian Olechno, Fraserburgh North;Lachlan Bryan and Sarah Duncan, Maud.

Individuals - Kathryn Ritchie; Jack Elvey; Zain Salam and Ironside Family.

Highly commended:

Daniel Jones and Laura Wcislo, Lochpots; Ethan Alexander and Abigail Stuart, New Pitsligo; Anona Arnott and Anya Fisher, Strichen; Ross Chalmers, New Deer; Amy Finnie, Liam Park and Liam Reid, Mintlaw Primary; Sandra, Peterhead Central; Lauren and Josh, Longside; Steven Robb, Fraserburgh North; Strichen Group and Longside Group.

Individuals: - Brandon Mowat and Jake McDonald

Lace - Rhiann McKenzie, New Pitsligo; commended - Emma Elphinstone, New Pitsligo.