The Buchan Heritage Society is bringing the James Morrison Photographic Collection to Longhaven hall on Sunday, September 15, as part of a free exhibition, open to the public.
The event has been arranged by Councillor Stephen Smith and heritage society chairman Sandy May and arose out of a conversation they had at the recent Family History & Heritage Fair in Peterhead. The collection was discovered in 1985 in an old blocked-up cupboard in the farm house at Stoneyards Belhelvie where James Morrison had lived from around 1870.
The owners of Stoneyards in 1985, discovered the glass plates during renovations to the house. The plates were later passed to the Buchan Heritage Society. This is a unique collection, comprising more than 650 glass plate negatives all of which have now been digitised.
The exhibition runs from 1.30pm to 4pm with a presentation and commentary on the collection at 2.15pm. Admission is free and teas and homebakes will be available for purchase.